No Excuses. For 90 Days.

A list of possible excuses. Among the ones that I will not be using for the next 90 days. (I’m feeling a little punchy and pissy about excuses and what they really mean.) I know this is going to be a challenging 3 months. I’m getting tough on myself. Mostly, I simply tired of listening to myself, as quiet as the excuse voice is. Because it’s a pretty quiet one. One that runs like a hum, like the electrical buzz you don’t notice until the electricity goes off in a storm.

I’ve done this on a smaller scale before. But never for 90 days. That’s sustained and persistent.

I forgot. (No, you didn’t. You didn’t bother.)

Sorry, I’m late. (No, you’re not. You didn’t plan well enough.Especially from people who are consistently late.)

I didn’t finish the dishes last night ’cause it was late. (find a better time to do them. You hate seeing dishes on the counter in the morning.)

I woke up late. (And so? Get going.)

I don’t feel like it. (Too bad. It has to be done. Get on with it.)

I have to drive ALL the way into town. It’s too late to go to the gym. (Stop it. Three times a week. Plan it. Do it.)

I don’t have time. (Yes, you do. You just haven’t set your priorities properly to get done what you said you would. Or, you really don’t have the time. In which case you’ve over-committed. About as bad.)

Just this once. (Yeah, right.)

I can have just one. (ditto!)

I’m not good enough.(We use this to keep our dreams small. Stop it.)

I haven’t got the right stuff. (Either get the right stuff, if that’s really true, or just get on with it)

It’s too cold. wet, windy outside. (Layer, bundle, cover. Go. Unless it’s -30, there’s a tornado or a flood. Then it’s just dumb to even think about going outside.)

Really. I sent that email.(The equivalent of “my dog ate my homework.”)

I meant to. (But you didn’t)

Excuses are rationalizations we use to live small. In doing so, we often evade the hard work or even the five minutes it takes to do something properly.

I’m not sure how many times a day I’ve used an excuse to keep me from doing something that would advance my business, my health, or would add beauty and order to a place. I know it’s a subtle form of subterfuge and I’d like to eradicate it.  And I think it’s endemic in our world. We all make excuses for things.

Time to stop it. So, here come 90 days of no excuses. At least if I use an excuse, I’ll catch myself.

 

Leave a Reply

